Withrow High and Douglass Honored as Schools of Distinction


Withrow University High School and Frederick Douglass Elementary School were both named "Schools of Distinction" by College For Every Student (CFES), a national nonprofit that helps underserved students prepare for, gain access to and succeed in college. They share the honor with 19 other schools across the country.

The "School of Distinction" process encourages educators, families and others in the community to work together toward a common goal: to put more underserved youth on the path to college. Adhering to an established framework of guidelines, and working within their existing budgets, each of the award-winning schools:

  1. intensively engaged all students, known as CFES Scholars, in the three CFES practices (leadership through service, pathways to college and mentoring)
  2. demonstrated exemplary programs in moving underserved students toward college success
  3. met school-wide and grade specific expectations

Congratulations to Withrow Principal Sharon Johnson and Douglass Principal Renee Rashad for this achievement.