News from the School for Creative and Performing Arts


Corbett Mayerson Award Finals on May 16th 
SCPA will present the finals of
the 2013 Corbett Mayerson Competition
on Thursday May 16th at 7:00pm in the Mayerson Theater.  Admission is free, but please RSVP to or call the box office at 51-363-8100 and indicate
how many seat reservations you require as school officials may have to move the competition
to the Corbett Theater.  The 2013
Corbett-Mayerson Finalists are: Christiana Somers (Creative Writing), Dominic
Barrett (Dance), Richard Lowenburg, Tess Greweling, Jeremias Santarelli,
Caitlin Halpin (Drama), Isaiah Cook, Kelsey Fullmer, Francesca Wantuch, Tamaiya
Wilson (Instrumental Music), Kenna McWilliams (Vocal Music), Xander Wells, Eli
Davis, Natalie Rieger (Music Theater), Ruby Brooke (Visual Art).  

SCPA Drama
Ensemble Nominated for 12 Cappies Awards
Congratulations to the SCPA Drama
Ensemble directed by Mary Lenning on their recent nominations from the Cappies
High School Critics Awards Panel.  The
nominations are: Best Play – The Boys Next Door, Ellen Ehrsam for Supporting
Actress and Props, Tekla Gaughan for Props, Chris Grosser for Comic Actor, Zak
Kelley for Supporting Actor, Collin Leonard for Featured Actor and Lighting, Richard
Lowenburg for Best Male Critic, Henry McKenzie for Lead Actor, Kyla Norton for
Featured Actress, and Drew Turnball for Set Design. 


SCPA Rummage Sale to Support Vocal Performance Tour to Beijing, China 

Help Support the SCPA Vocal
Department’s Performance Tour to Beijing, China by participating in the Spring
Rummage Sale on Saturday, May 11 from 8:00am-2:00pm.  You can:

1. Donate gently used or new
items to SCPA on May 9 and 10 from 3:00pm to 6:00pm. No donation is too small or
too big.

2. Come to the SCPA Rummage
Sale on May 11 from 8 am to 2 pm.

Share this message with family, friends and co-workers.