CPS’ Board Re-Elects Copeland-Dansby, Bates as Officers


The Cincinnati Board of Education has re-elected Ericka Copeland-Dansby and Melanie Bates to leadership positions for the 2017 school year.

Ericka Copeland Dansby was re-elected president of the Cincinnati Board of Education.

In its organizational meeting on January 9, the Board unanimously elected Ericka Copeland-Dansby of Roselawn, parent of a college student who graduated from Walnut Hills High School last spring, as president. Melanie Bates of Walnut Hills, parent of three Walnut Hills High School graduates, was declared vice president by acclamation.

Copeland-Dansby is executive director of Wesley Community Services, which supports seniors in need. In remarks after taking her oath of office with her son Jeremiyah by her side, she congratulated her colleagues for milestones achieved during the last year, including higher graduation rates and composite scores on the ACT college entrance test, a 97 percent promotion rate in third grade reading, and meeting the needs of the whole child through Community Learning Centers and school-based health centers.

Copeland-Dansby also noted that district enrollment rose to more than 35,000 students and voters approved Issue 44 to support priorities for the district including strengthening neighborhood schools, increasing technology and expanding access to quality preschool. “Together as a Board we have accomplished much,” she said.

Bates, the longest serving board member, said the Board faced a year of important decisions, including the selection of a successor to Superintendent Mary Ronan, who announced she will retire effective August 1 after nine years as superintendent.

Melanie Bates was re-elected Vice President of the Cincinnati Board of Education.

Board Committee memberships were also determined at the organizational meeting:

Finance – Eve Bolton, Carolyn Jones, Melanie Bates

Partnership and Public Engagement – All Board Members as Committee of the Whole

Policy – Elisa Hoffman, Carolyn Jones and A. Chris Nelms

Student Achievement Committee – Eve Bolton, Elisa Hoffman, Daniel Minera

Board Ad Hoc Priorities Committee – Carolyn Jones, Eve Bolton, Elisa Hoffman


Comments are closed.